Visualising music

When I first saw this video two weeks ago, my joy knew no bounds. I asked my friend to play it on the upright Roland digital piano while I watched the video simultaneously. I was able to appreciate the depth of the musical composition by following the movement on the circle in various quarters. Thanks Andy.

A couple of years ago, I came across the channel by Smalin. He has made several visualisations in various forms and it is immensely useful to someone who has never listened to classical music. Our ears can pick up the variations in the pitch in conjunction with the video much easily than listening alone. Smalin’s latest video on Paganini’s can be viewed here.

Leave a Reply

